Long Arrow Right External Link angle-right Search Times Spinner angle-left

How to delete Google Contacts

Before deleting all contacts, it's a good idea to have a backup. If you you accidentally delete something important, you'll always have the option to restore it later. Please follow this article about How to export Google Contacts in order to make a backup.

Delete Google Contacts by following these steps:

Step 1. Open your browser and go to www.google.com/contacts. Login to your Google account if necessary.

Step 2. In the Google Contacts list, select a single contact. An options menu will appear on top.

undefined

 

Step 3. In the Options menu, click the first option and select All from the drop-down menu.

undefined

 

Step 4. Once all contacts are selected, click the 3 vertical dots in the top menu and choose Delete.

undefined

 

If you only want to delete specific contacts, you can select each one manually and then use the Delete option.

undefined

 

If you only want to delete contacts in a specific Contacts Group (label), select the label first on the left side of the Google Contacts page. Then, select all contacts inside it or specific ones you want to delete and use the Delete option.

undefined

 

Recovering deleted Google Contacts from Trash

All deleted contacts are sent to the Google Contacts Trash folder, where they are kept for 30 days. You can recover Google Contacts that were accidentally deleted.

Step 1. On the left side of the Google Contacts page, click on the Trash option.

undefined

 

Step 2. Select all contacts you want to restore and click the Recover option.

undefined

 

Contact Support about deleting Google Contacts